WP Club Rugby: Shuffling in Super Leagues for the 2020 season

WP Club Rugby: Shuffling in Super Leagues for the 2020 season

The announcement of the 2020 Western Province club fixtures shows a little more movement than usual due to the withdrawal of the Victorians, one of the 15 teams in last year’s Super A League, from the WP Leagues.

The WP Club Rugby League fixtures start on 4 April and the changes in the clubs that have been moved to a different league from last year will be watched with keenness by their new competitors in the respective leagues.

When the Vics withdrew early in last year’s competition the other 14 sides carried on with their fixtures as usual. However, to retain 15 sides in the Super A League there was the demotion of only one side and the promotion of two, Hamlet and Kuilsrivier, from the Super B League.

♦ The knock-on effect is that the Super B League will lose four of last year’s sides (Hamlet and Kuilsrivier have been promoted, and Rangers and Macassar have been relegated).

However, in addition to Primrose, relegated from Super A, there will be three newcomers to the Super B League, namely Hands and Hearts, Langa and Scottsdene Central. They have been promoted from the Super C League.

♦ The Super C League has seen the most changes. They lost Hands and Hearts, Langa and Scottsdene Central through promotion to the Super B League, as well as Manenberg Rangers and Young Wesleys who are now both with the Northern League.

Coming into their place in the Super C League are Rangers and Macassar, both relegated from the Super B League, CPUT from City League, Albions (Paarl) and Eersterivier (Northern League).

Sides in the three Super Leagues in 2020 –

Super A League
Unie Milnerton, Paarl, UWC, Brackenfell, Hamiltons, False Bay, Durbell, Hamlets, Villagers, Kuilsrivier, Tygerberg, SK Walmer, Stellenbosch, UCT, NTK.

Super B League
Helderberg, Vineyards, Goodwood, Belhar, Franschoek, St Georges, Bellville,  Collegians, Busy Bees, Young Peoples, All Saints, Primrose, Langa, Hands and Hearts, Scottsdene Central.

Super C League
Morning Star, Blue Stars United, Raithby Univerals, Pniel Villagers, Kraaifontein, CPUT, Strand, Kylemore, Rangers, Macassar, Albions, Elsies River United, Eersterivioer, Strand United, Blue Jets.