Fleck's Stormers team selection takes the 'Super' from Superhero Sunday

Fleck's Stormers team selection takes the 'Super' from Superhero Sunday

Much of the Super has been taken out of the main match of Superhero Sunday between the Stormer and the Bulls.

Stormers coach Robbie Fleck opted to pick a decidedly weaker team than the Stormers best ‒ and although this was expected, it will take much of the fun and needle from the pre-match hype around the North-South main attraction at Cape Town Stadium.

Dillyn Leyds (nine tests in 2017) and scrumhalf Jano Vermaak (three tests) and centre JJ Engelbrecht (12 tests) are the only three Springboks in the Stormers starting fifteen. The latter duo both played their respective last tests for the Boks in 2013.

Fleck has, however, picked two year-end touring Boks on the bench, but Wilco Louw and Sikhumbuzo Notshe are cannot, even with a large stretch of imagination, be regarded as first-choice players for the Springboks. With them on the bench will be lock JD Schickerling, who toured with the Boks without being capped on the year-end tour.

Top Boks Pieter-Steph du Toit, Bongi Mbonambi, Steven Kitshoff, Siya Kolisi, Frans Malherbe and Damian de Allende are not even on the enlarged 27-man bench and Eben Etzebeth is injured.

WP Currie Cup captain Chris van Zyl will captain the side that, despite the non-selection of the Springbok forwards Du Toit, Mbonambi, Kitshoff, Kolisi and Frans Malherbe, could be a handful to contain if they can get enough ball.

Especially the back-three of fullback Leyds and the two wings Seabelo Senatla and SP Marais could be dangerous if given scope.


Dillyn Leyds, Seabelo Senatla, JJ Engelbrecht, Dan Kriel, SP Marais, Joshua

Stander, Jano Vermaak, Juarno Augustus, Cobus Wiese, Jaco Coetzee, Chris van Zyl (captain), Salmaan Moerat, Michael Kumbirai, Scarra Ntubeni, Ali Vermaak. Replacements: Chad Solomon,

Corné Fourie, Wilco Louw, Ernst van Rhyn, JD Schickerling, Sikhumbuzo Notshe, Kobus van Dyk,

Herschel Jantjies, Damian Willemse, Sergeal Petersen, Dan du Plessis.