Two flown in for Blitzboks to face Vegas champs USA in pool

Two flown in for Blitzboks to face Vegas champs USA in pool

Zain Davids and Kurt-Lee Arendse have been called up to the Springbok Sevens team to do duty in Vancouver this weekend as the Blitzboks start their preparations for round six of the World Rugby Sevens Series. 

Davids, who has played in 17 tournaments for the Blitzboks, will replace injured Ryan Oosthuizen in the forwards, while the uncapped Arendse joins the squad due to an injury to Mfundo Ndhlovu. 

Muller du Plessis, who travelled to Las Vegas as the official reserve, replaced Ndhlovu before the final match at the Las Vegas Sevens tournament, where South Africa finished in a disappointing joint-seventh place after losing the fifth-place semi-final.

Davids has been part of the Blitzboks' back-to-back World Series wins in 2017 and 2018, but for Arendse the trip across the Atlantic will be a special one. The 22-year-old is part of the SA Rugby Sevens Academy.

He excelled for the Academy in tournaments in Dubai and South America recently, where he displayed his attacking abilities. He also played for the University of the Western Cape in the opening round of the FNB Varsity Cup before being called into the wider Blitzboks squad.

The Canada Sevens will be played at BC Place on 9 and 10 March. The Blitzboks are drawn with the USA, Wales and Chile in Pool A, while Pool B consists of Samoa, Fiji, Kenya and Canada. New Zealand and Australia head up Pool C with Spain and France, while Pool D consists of Argentina, Scotland, Japan and England.


The Springbok Sevens squad for Vancouver ‒

Zain Davids, Philip Snyman, Impi Visser, Sako Makata, Werner Kok, JC Pretorius, Branco du Preez, Selvyn Davids, Justin Geduld, Stedman Gans, Siviwe Soyizwapi, Muller du Plessis, Kurt-Lee Arendse.


Issued by SA Rugby Communications