Blitzboks have England in their pool for Dubai tournament

Blitzboks have England in their pool for Dubai tournament

The celebration of 50 years of Dubai Sevens will mark the first tournament of the 2019/2020 World Sevens Series which kicks off at the The Sevens on 5 December with the Blitzboks first match against Kenya.

There is a deviation in the past Dubai programmes in that all men’s side will play only one pool match on Day 1 in the tournament where all the women’s and men’s matches will be played on the main pitch for the first time in its history, with eight men's and six women's matches to be played on 5 December.

South Africa face Kenya in the first round, and then go on to face Spain and the often very dangerous England side in Pool D on 6 December with the play-offs on Sunday 7 December.

It is important for the Blitzboks to win the pool, as a second placing will most probably pit them against last season’s series winners Fiji in the quarterfinal. Fiji face France, Argentina and Japan in Pool A.

The USA, Australia and Scotland are in Pool B with newcomers Ireland, a team not to be underestimated, while Pool C sees the Dubai defending champions New Zealand drawn with Samoa, Canada and Wales as their rivals.