WP shrug off Newlands problems to keep on winning trail in SuperSport Challenge

WP shrug off Newlands problems to keep on winning trail in SuperSport Challenge

Western Province on Friday shrugged off the various problems at the WPRU at Newlands and kept their unbeaten record in the SuperSport Challenge intact with an impressive 47-20 away win against the Sharks XV in Durban. 

WP scored five tries to two and boast 15 log points after three matches to stay in the lead of the South section of the competition. 

♦ Only five teams are still undefeated after three rounds in the highly competitive SuperSport Rugby Challenge after another weekend of high drama, tries and yet another successful Sunday Rugby Festival. 

The Rugby Festival took place at D'Almeida Stadium in Mossel Bay on Sunday and saw South Section competitors SWD Eagles beat Zimbabwe Academy 31-30, while the Free State Cheetahs XV outplayed EP Elephants by 49-12.

The hordes of people who attended the Rugby Festival in the Southern Cape were entertained to the tune of 18 tries in the two matches, with the result in the main match in the balance until the last minutes.

However, the two undefeated sides in the South Section nailed their colours to the mast earlier in the weekend.

Boland Cavaliers, like WP, also scored a good win away from home, beating Border Bulldogs 52-0 in East London to move into second position on the South log.

♦ The North Section had some nail biters with several tight results.

The Golden Lions XV (43-40) almost had their undefeated status removed by the Valke, who came back strongly in the second half on Saturday.

Griquas (61-24 over the Welwitschias on Saturday) and the Pumas (40-30 over the Leopards on Friday) remained unbeaten with hard-fought wins.

The Blue Bulls scored a good victory at Loftus Versfeld on Friday, beating the Griffons 35-20 in a tight match.

With tries galore across all the match, another hat-trick was no surprise, with Boland flanker Tapiwa Tsomondo getting three against Border.

One of the hat-trick scorers from last week, Jo-Hanco de Villiers (Golden Lions XV), is joint-top try-scorer with Springbok wing Jamba Ulengo (Free State Cheetahs XV), with five tries apiece.

JT Jackson (Blue Bulls) and Abner van Reenen (Western Province) are the leading points' scorers with 44 each. Both have kicked 15 conversions and three penalties.

For the full log after three rounds click on https://www.springboks.rugby/tournaments/league?lid=9

Summary of results and scorers – 

North Section 

Welwitschias 24 (10), Griquas 61 (19)

Welwitschias – Tries: Daryl de la Harpe, Thomasau Forbes, Chrysander Botha. Conversions: Cliven Loubser (3). Penalty: Loubser.
Griquas – Tries: Cody Basson, Godfrey Ramaboea, Wilmar Arnoldi, Anthony Volmink, George Whitehead, Michal Haznar, Sias Koen, Gideon van der Merwe, Penalty Try. Conversions: Tinus de Beer (3), Whitehead (4). 

Golden Lions XV 43 (31), Valke 40 (14)

Golden Lions XV – Tries: Jo-Hanko de Villiers (2), Stean Pienaar (2), Ruben Schoeman, James Venter, Madosh Tambwe. Conversions: Jeanluc Cilliers (4).
Valke – Tries: Anrich Richter (2), Marco Klopper, Friedle Olivier, Errol Jaggers, Hardus Pretorius. Conversions: Richter (5).

 Pumas 40 (26), Leopards 30 (10)

Pumas – Tries: JP Lewis (2), Stefan Willemse, Devon Williams, Francois Kleinhans, HP van Schoor. Conversions: Chris Smith (5).
Leopards – Tries: Jimmy Mpailane, Edmund Rheeder, Keagan Tait, Shane van Rooyen. Conversions: Schalk Hugo (2). Penalty: Hugo. Drop Goal: Hugo. 

Blue Bulls 35 (14), Griffons 20 (13)

Blue Bulls – Tries: Duncan Matthews, Fiela Boshoff, Ruan Steenkamp (2), Diego Appollis. Conversions: JT Jackson (5).
Griffons – Tries: Jean Pretorius, Arthur Williams. Conversions: Jaywinn Juries (2). Penalties: Juries (2).

South Section

Border Bulldogs 0 (0), Boland Cavaliers 52 (14)
Boland Cavaliers – Tries: Valentino Norman (2), Tapiwa Tsomondo (3), Patrick O'Brien, Shilton van Wyk (2). Conversions: Garrick Mattheus (3), Joshua Vermeulen, Monty Dumond (2)
Border Bulldogs – None.

Sharks XV 20 (13), Western Province 47 (21)

Sharks XV – Tries: Kwanda Dimaza, Wian Vosloo. Conversions: Rhyno Smith (2); Penalties: Smith (2).
Western Province – Tries: Edwill van der Merwe (2), Paul de Wet, Marno Redelinghuys, Craig Barry, Penalty Tries (2). Conversions: Abner van Reenen (4).


EP Elephants 12 (12), Free State Cheetahs XV 49 (19)

EP Elephants – Tries: Mikey Botha, Michael Makase. Conversion: Oliver Zono.

Free State Cheetahs XV – Tries: Jamba Ulengo, Ernst Stapelberg (2), Tapiwa Mafura, Jasper Wiese, Marlou van Niekerk, Marnus van der Merwe. Conversions: Stapelberg (7).


SWD Eagles 31 (19), Zimbabwe Academy 30 (7)

SWD – Tries: Dillin Snel, Shario Rosenkrantz, Marquit September (2), Lwando Mabenge. Conversions: Gerhard Nortier (2), Leighton Eksteen.

Zimbabwe Academy – Tries: Kuzai Mashawi, Aiden Burnett, George Saungweme, Cleopas Kundiona. Conversion: Jeremiah Jaravaza, Kadakwashe Mudariki. Penalties: Jaravaza (2).


Issued by SA Rugby Communications